All awardees pose for a photo in the 10th Makatao Awards for Media Excellence and Media Summit

Plenary Roundtable Discussion during the Media Summit

PMAP continues to honor the Media
at the 10th Makatao Awards for Media Excellence and Media Summit

Mandaluyong, Philippines, December 2022 — Finally, after two years of hiatus brought about by the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, the People Management Association of the Philippines held its 10th Makatao Awards ceremony at the Jose P. Laurel Hall of Freedom at the Lyceum of the Philippines University in Intramuros, Manila, to honor the efforts of the media in bringing us reliable news in times where credibility and factual information is needed. PMAP also held its Media Summit for the first time which aims to discuss important issues surrounding the practice of broadcasting and journalism.

The media summit featured a roundtable discussion with veteran journalists Mr. Joel Reyes Zobel, Dr. Cesar Chavez, and Ms. Luchi Cruz Valdes, moderated by Mr. Boris Joaquin. The discussion focused on “The Power of the Fourth Estate” which puts importance on the roles played by media in pushing for the truth, good governance, and social development. Some of the highlights of the discussion centered on the challenges faced by journalists in the practice of their profession. As Ms. Luchi Cruz-Valdes puts it, “media practitioners nowadays are charged guilty until proven innocent.” Hence, decriminalizing libel must be one of the laws that Congress should pass to aid media practitioners in the exercise of freedom of the press along with the enactment of the freedom of information bill. Due to the slimming protection given to journalists, Pres. Ellen Fullido lauded their tenacity, passion, and dedication in pursuit of upholding truthful news reporting. In honor of their professional practice, PMAP along with the rigorous scrutiny of the three-member jury, namely:  Ms. Marra PL Lanot-Lacaba, Founding Member of Women Writers in Media now, Dean Fernando Paragas, Dean of the University of the Philippine’s College of Mass Communication, and Mr. Robbie Aligada, Operations Manager of the Ad Standards Council,  the following media practitioners were recognized as winners at the 10th Makatao Awards for Media Excellence:

Best TV News Program – Frontline Pilipinas (TV5)

Best TV News Program Host- Cheryl Cosim (TV5)

Best TV Public Affairs Program- The Chiefs (One News)

Best TV Public Affairs Program Host- Chinkee Tan (One Ph)

Best Radio News Program- Super Balita sa Umaga Nationwide (DZBB)

Best Radio News Program Host- Mike Enriquez (DZBB)

Best Radio Public Affairs Program- DZRH Stories – Pinoy Documentaries (DZRH)

Best Radio Public Affairs Program Host- Dr. Cesar Chavez (DZRH)

Best Newspaper Columnist- Monchit B. Ibrahim (Manila Bulletin)

Social Media Citation- Iskoolmates (PTV4)

TV Station of the Year – TV5

Radio Station of the Year- DZBB

Newspaper of the Year- Philippine Daily Inquirer

PMAP is truly honored to recognize the service of our media practitioners and will continue to do so, in the pursuit of truth and in upholding the Makatao values in the practice of their profession.